FW6: Favorite Toy

October 15, 2009 at 4:08 pm 2 comments

I used to carry my American Girl doll around with me everywhere.  I had two, so depending on the day, or what mood I  was in, I would pick either my look-alike doll, or josephina (bad spelling).  I was addicted to both of them and would play all day dressing them up and making stories about them.  Since I had no siblings, the dolls were often my friends on those cold rainy days.  I know that sounds kind of dumb, but hey, they were some pretty cool dolls.  Each of them had their own American Girl bed and closets, they all had tons of clothes and accessories.  I look back to day and think of how much money my parents had to have spent on all that stuff.  Now it is just sitting in a box in the basement collecting dust.  Maybe if I have a little girl in the future, she will find them fun to play with?  Even if they eventually get thrown out or given to a thrift store, I will always have those rainy day memories

This is one of my dolls.  Sadly I cant find the look alike one, but It looks like me so I guess you can get the idea.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

FW5: 5things FW7: Grow Up

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. love2ski123  |  October 15, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    We had the same favorite toy growing up. I loved my American Girl Dolls and will probably give them to my daughter, if i have one. It is kind of crazy to think about how much time and money went into these pieces of plastic. Not to say that the memories weren’t worth it, because they were at least to me, maybe not my mom, who was actually purchasing the dolls and accessories. But its just interesting to think about how much time I spent playing with these dolls.

    Reply
  • 2. Michele  |  October 26, 2009 at 12:23 am

    I htink American Girl dolls will eventually be as popualr as Barbie. They should be….aside from the cost of all the accessories, they are a great toy for any child. Sure learn a lot about history!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts